The College of Charleston School of the Arts is proud to announce that Arts Management Program Director, Scott Shanklin-Peterson, will receive the 2010 National Award for Arts Achievement and Excellence from the International Council of Fine Arts Deans (ICFAD). The award will be presented on October 22 in Sarasota, FL.

The award is presented to an organization or a person who has contributed significantly toward the advocacy, support, visibility or creativity within the arts. ICFAD’s Board of Directors, headed by Ron Jones, Dean of the College of the Arts at the University of South Florida, selects the recipient each year. The honor includes a $1,000 prize to a young artist or arts organization as selected by the award recipient. Ms. Shanklin-Peterson has designated the grant for the South Carolina Arts Alliance, where she is the immediate past President of the Board.

Currently Ms. Shanklin-Peterson serves as the Director of the School of the Arts’ Arts Management Program. Her accomplishments include service at the South Carolina Arts Commission, where she was Director from 1980 to 1994, and her time at the National Endowment for the Arts from 1994 to 2001, where she served as Senior Deputy Chairman for four years. She serves on the boards of the Southern Arts Federation, International Arts and Artists (Washington, D.C.) and the International Advisory Committee for the Arts Council of Mongolia.

Organizations such as the National Art Education Association have recognized Ms. Shanklin-Peterson’s leadership in the arts. The South Carolina Arts Alliance named its advocacy award for her (“The Scottie”), and she was the first recipient. She also has received the Order of the Palmetto from Governor Richard Riley, the highest award for leadership and public service that South Carolina’s Governor presents, as well as the Elizabeth O’Neill Verner Award for the Arts, South Carolina’s highest award in the arts.