The College of Charleston men’s swimming & diving squad won the 2012 Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association (CCSA) Championship, the school’s third conference title since the beginning of the conference in 2007-08. In winning their third championship, the men’s squad have won more CCSA titles than any other program. The Cougars scored 890.50 points to beat out rival Davidson. The women’s squad scored a program-best 267 points as they took seventh place overall.

Junior diver Peter Gibbons was named the CCSA Male Diver of the Year and Most Outstanding Diver of the Meet after he won both the one-meter and three-meter dives and set two new school records.

College of Charleston head coach Bruce Zimmerman was named the Men’s CCSA Swimming Coach of the Year, his third career honor. The Cougars’ diving coach, Brittany Collins, was named the Men’s Diving Coach of the Year, her first career honor.

For the weekend, the Cougars’ men’s and women’s squads combined for 12 new school records, 23 top-three finishes and six gold medals.

On the final day of competition, freshman Pablo Ortiz set a new school record by winning the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 1:50.80.

On the women’s side, Sarah Boyle broke yet another of her own school records by winning the 200 backstroke with a time of 2:00.00.

Freshman Sarah Graif bested her own school record in the 100 free as she took sixth place with a time of 51.38. Teammate Jayme Groth was right behind her for a seventh-place time of 51.47.