The Department of Computer Science at the College of Charleston is growing fast, and that’s one reason organizers are expecting another standing room only crowd at its seventh annual alumni symposium on Tuesday, February 19th, 2013. The event will begin at noon in room 202 of the Tate Center (5 Liberty St.). It’s free and open to the public, and students from all majors are invited to attend. Spots are filling up, and registration is required.

Nine successful computer science alumni will share their experiences with the next generation of young computer scientists, offering advice on job-hunting, graduate school, start-ups and professions. “The Computer Science Alumni Symposium serves as a platform for economic development in the software industry, and the long-term success of the symposium speaks to the envious strengths of the student-faculty interaction in the College’s computer science department,” says Department Chair Chris Starr. “Our success is built on the utmost attention to each student, one success at a time. Only the fortunate high school students figure this out in time, and we’re so proud of those who do.”

After a buffet lunch and opening remarks, each presenter will give a “3-minute madness” talk followed by a panel discussion and question and answer session from students and the audience. Presenters include:

Randy Adkins ‘98, ’04, Senior Software Architect, Modus21
JR Armstrong ’10, IT Architect III, Equifax
Drew Connelly ’02, Senior Architect, Modus21
Jennifer Green ’12, Net Developer and Team Scrum Master, Hawkes Learning Systems
Timothy Griesemer ’11, Systems Programmer I, MUSC
Arpan Kotecha ’05, Team Lead of Predictive Technologies, Citi
Jason Leonard ’11, Applications Analyst, MUSC
Ewan Oglethorpe ’12, Analytic Scientist, Aster Data
Joshua Walton ’11, Junior Software Developer, SPARC

For more information, contact symposium founder Jim Bowring 843.608.1399 or