on Tuesday named College of Charleston men’s basketball Head Coach Earl Grant a finalist for the 2019 Skip Prosser Man of the Year Award.

Coach Earl Grant

Grant led the Cougars to a 24-9 overall record for the 2018-2019 season, including non-conference victories over Rhode Island, VCU and Memphis. For the fourth-straight year, they led the Colonial Athletic Association in scoring defense holding opponents to 68.6 points per game. The Cougars fell to the North Eastern Huskies in the Colonial Athletic Association semifinals Monday, March 11, 2019.

The dynamic duo of senior forward Jarrell Brantley and junior guard Grant Riller were both named to the All-CAA First Team, while Riller was one of the top 20 scorers in the country averaging 21.9 points per game – second best in the conference. As a team, the Cougars were ranked as high as No. 7 in the Mid-Major Top 25 Poll throughout the season and enter the CAA championship tournament as the No. 3 seed. They won 22-straight home games at TD Arena including 13 this season and are 39-6 (.867) at home over the last three years under Grant.

Grant is joined on the finalist list by Casey Alexander of Lipscomb, Tommy Amaker of Harvard, Rick Byrd of Belmont, Johnny Dawkins of UCF, Fran Dunphy of Temple, Steve Forbes of ETSU, Joe Golding of Abilene Christian, Jason Hooten of Sam Houston State, Michael Huger of Bowling Green, Donte’ Jackson of Grambling, James Jones of Yale, Mike Jones of Radford, Robert Jones of Norfolk State, Jay Joyner of North Carolina A&T, Danny Kaspar of Texas State, Rob Krimmel of Saint Francis (Pa.), Matt McMahon of Murray State, Joe Mihalich of Hofstra, Nate Oats of Buffalo, Ryan Odom of UMBC, Matt Painter of Purdue, Doc Sadler of Southern Miss, Bruce Weber of Kansas State and Mike Young of Wofford.

Named after the late Skip Prosser, who died suddenly in 2007, while the head coach at Wake Forest, the award is presented annually to those who not only achieve success on the basketball court, but who also display moral integrity off of it as well.

The recipient of the 2019 Skip Prosser Award will be announced on April 5 at the College Insider Awards Event, in Minneapolis, site of the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Final Four.