As recipients of the 2020 Excellence in Collegiate Education and Leadership (ExCEL) Awards, more than 30 College of Charleston students, staff, faculty and community members are being recognized, honored and celebrated for their commitment to creating a campus environment that promotes diversity and excellence.

These impressive CofC community members will be celebrated and recognized at the 2021 ExCEL Awards ceremony, as the 2020 ceremony was cancelled due to the stay-at-home regulations during the coronavirus pandemic. The Office of Multicultural Student Programs and Services coordinates the ExCEL Awards program.

Congrats to this year’s winners, and thank you for making CofC a better place!

Outstanding Students of the year

Graduate School – Delaney Drake

Honors College – Cookie Desai

School of the Arts – Harlem Farr

School of Business – Kayla Kozak

School of Education, Health, and Human Performance – Akayla Sellers

School of Humanities and Social Sciences – Tanner Crunelle

School of Languages, Culture, and World Affairs – Isabel Crews

School of Professional Studies – Jeff Ballard

School of Sciences and Mathematics – Olivia Dzieciolowski and Jabbarrius Ervin

Outstanding Faculty of the Year

Graduate School – Judy Millesen

Honors College – Brooke Permenter

School of the Arts – Jason White

School of Business – Beatriz Maldonado

School of Education, Health, and Human Performance – Ian O’Byrne

School of Humanities and Social Sciences – Jenn Wilhelm

School of Languages, Culture, and World Affairs – Lauren Ravalico

School of Sciences and Mathematics – Narayanan Kuthirummal

Outstanding Student Awards (specialized)

Outstanding Female Athlete of the Year – Deja Ford

Outstanding Male Athlete of the Year – Grant Riller

Septima P. Clark Award – Caliyah Parker

Eugene C. Hunt: Graduating Senior – Charlise Page

Eugene C. Hunt: Rising Senior – Reagan Williams

Lucille S. Whipper Award – Vanity Reid Deterville

Stephen C. Osborne and George P. Watt Jr. Bonner Leader of the Year – Mason Barkley

SCAMP Student of the Year – Jabbarrius Ervin

Outstanding Staff Awards

Administrator of the Year – Marla Robertson

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year – Celeste Granger

The Unsung Champion – Nora Krasowski

Specialized Award Categories

Demetria Clemmons Distinguished Mentoring Award – Page Keller

Distinguished Faculty Sustainability Award – Todd LeVasseur ’97

Eddie Ganaway Distinguished Alumni Award – Tanya T. Harper ’73

Excellence in Customer Service – Bronwyn Barron

Good Neighbor Award – Stephen Skardon Jr.

Harry M. Lightsey, Jr. Presidential Award – Carlin Nelson

Leo I. Higdon Presidential Award – Jesse “Tripp” Keeffe

Safe Zone Advocacy Award – Percival V. Haas

Student Sustainability Award – Sofia Troya Zambrano