The Staff Advisory Committee to the President (SAC) held its first meeting of the academic year on July 31, 2020, to onboard new members, discuss ideas and elect members to committee leadership posts.

At the meeting, the following members were elected to leadership positions for the 2020–21 academic year and will constitute the SAC Executive Committee: Ana Gilpatrick (chair), project manager in the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs; Sarah Myer ’09 (vice chair), director of operations in the Office of Enrollment Information; and Dawn Brandt (treasurer/secretary), senior budget and finance reporting manager in the Office of Budgeting and Payroll Services. Four additional members will join the executive team once the subcommittee chairs are appointed at a later date.

RELATED: Find out about the newest members of SAC who began their term on July 1, 2020.

SAC meets as an entire committee at least once a month, and subcommittees also meet at least once a month. They represent SAC at staff drop-ins, the Staff Awards Presentation in June and other SAC initiatives throughout the year. Divisional representatives communicate SAC initiatives with their divisions, encourage their divisions to participate in SAC-sponsored events and solicit action items for SAC to work on.

The purpose of SAC is to advise the president about staff opinions concerning matters of importance to the staff and institution, to receive the president’s requests for advice and counsel regarding matters relevant to the staff, to increase awareness of the staff’s contributions to the College and to promote the recognition of outstanding staff.

Check the Faculty & Staff News page on The College Today, the Faculty & Staff News Yammer feed, the @cofcfacultystaff Twitter feed and the SAC Instagram feed for updates about SAC throughout the year.