The College of Charleston has announced two changes in leadership, effective July 1, 2020: Charles Calvert has been appointed the director of the Office of Undergraduate Research and Creative Activities (URCA), and Chris Korey will assume the role of associate dean of the School of Sciences and Mathematics (SSM).

Calvert, an associate professor in the Department of Theatre and Dance, has served on the URCA Grant Review Committee for many years and is dedicated to providing support for undergraduates pursuing experiences in research and creative inquiry. In his own area of expertise, set-design, Calvert has mentored numerous undergraduate students who have gone on to pursue professional careers in the field. He will succeed Elizabeth Meyer-Bernstein, who is transitioning to the role of interim dean of the Honors College.

RELATED: Read more about Chris Korey and his research.

Korey, a biology professor, received the College’s prestigious William V. Moore Distinguished Teacher-Scholar Award in 2010 and the ExCEL Faculty Award for SSM in 2010. He has served as the director of the College’s First-Year Experience, which included coordinating its assessment, and is currently serving on the College’s Coronavirus Academic Taskforce and the Student Success and Retention Committee. He is succeeding Jim Deavor, who will serve as the interim chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.