The College of Charleston’s annual Staff Celebration and Staff Awards Presentation is scheduled for 11:30 a.m.–1 p.m. on June 24, 2020.

Organized by the Staff Advisory Committee to the President (SAC), this annual event brings staff together for fellowship and festivities while also recognizing the hard work and dedication of the employees nominated by their colleagues for the annual Staff Awards.

RELATED: Check out the photos from the 2019 Staff Celebration.

This year’s event will be held online through Microsoft Teams and will include a virtual trivia  (with prizes), as well as remarks from President Andrew T. Hsu at 11:45 a.m., followed by brief remarks from other members of the senior leadership team. Don’t forget to wear your Cougar gear to show your Cougar pride!

The nominees for the 2020 Staff Awards are listed below under their respective award category.

Permanent Staff Employee of the Year ($1,500 prize for the primary recipient and $500 prize to four additional recipients):

  • JR Barnhart
  • Melody Beacher
  • Mendi Benigni
  • Erin Blevins
  • Will Breard
  • Alison Bruce
  • William Chase
  • Bruce Fleming
  • Michelle Futrell
  • Liza Gadsden
  • Celeste Granger
  • Alfred Hall
  • Milton Langley
  • Kyra Masuga
  • Mike Parrish
  • Genevieve Palmisano
  • Elizabeth Roberts
  • John Sare
  • Mark Sloan
  • Wendy Stephens
  • Robin Stewart
  • Jessica Surface
  • Jeff Tomlinson
  • Cory Werkheiser
  • Sarah Wuigk

Temporary Staff Employee of the Year ($1,500 prize for the primary recipient and $500 prize to two additional recipients):

  • Sarah Michalies Boessenecker
  • Joh-nette Brown
  • Sara Coleman
  • Courtney Hicks
  • Tyrone Jefferson
  • Kaylee Lass
  • Robby Maynor
  • Leigh Meadows McAlpin
  • Brandon Reid
  • Regan Wacker

Outstanding Staff Member Presidential Service Award ($1,500 prize for the recipient):

  • Will Breard
  • Betty Craig
  • Lindy Coleman
  • Michelle Futrell
  • Celeste Granger
  • Bridget McLernon-Sykes
  • Emily Padgett

All awardees are selected by the president based on the recommendation of the Staff Advisory Committee.

To join the virtual gameshow, register at prior to or during the event, so you’re ready to play. Registration is required, so SAC can see your name on the leaderboard. If you plan to play using only SMS text, please register online prior. SAC attempted to pre-register all staff, but it may prompt you to update your account. Email SAC representative Ana Gilpatrick with questions.

The link to join the Teams event can be found here: Staff Awards Ceremony. If there are staff in your area without regular computer access, please email for an alternative viewing option.